The Key Point of Prosthesis -Socket

Prosthesis is an artificial device that replaces amputee’s missing body part. Although amputees may have different requirements for their prosthesis , there is one important thing that we cannot ignore – in prosthesis socket is the only part to directly contact with amputee.

Just like fabricating a denture, a well-molded denture can improve patient’s chewing ability and make patient feel painless when he/she is chewing food. By contrary, improper denture will affect patient’s chewing ability and cause gum inflammation and gingival recession. Even wearing diamond denture, if denture is not fit for gum, it is difficult for patient to chew food. Similarly, socket is important to amputee. Socket has to bear amputee’s weight. If socket is not molded well, the force applying on socket cannot be distributed. This not only makes stump hurt but also influence amputee’s mobility. Without well-molded socket, even wearing the prosthesis equipped with light carbon fiber or titanium prosthetic parts and high quality foot, amputee still cannot experience its outstanding performance.

Therefore, CPO (Certified Prosthetist and Orthotist) is indispensable to amputees.Socket manufacturing skill is associated with professional training and CPO’s experience. Before considering which kinds of prostheses are suitable, amputee should find an experienced CPO to help him/her fabricate a socket fit to his/her stump. Without a good socket, prosthesis cannot show its value.

 

Custom-silicone 

  1. In addition to socket, the silicone worn on stumpcannot be ignored. When amputees wear our Custom-silicones, they will not feel hot and humid. Furthermore, Custom-silicone can reduce the friction between stump and socket when amputees are walking. These advantages will make amputee walk more comfortably.

 

Demo video

ShareThis Copy and Paste

義肢優劣的決勝點 – 義肢承筒  

義肢形同殘肢的延伸,其精密與複雜程度如同人體的構造一般。雖然義肢的功能會因患友們的需求而有所不同,但有一項重點千萬不可忽略—真正與殘肢接觸的不是義肢組件,而是義肢承筒。讓我們來舉例說明。 


當我們在製作假牙時,合適的齒模能讓牙床著力且不會感到疼痛,啃咬蘋果或雞腿都不會有問題。但是不合適的齒模會讓牙床無法著力,即便是使用鑽石做的假牙,也會造成咀嚼上的困難,甚至造成牙床受傷、萎縮變形。 相同的道理,義肢承筒所扮演的角色就如同齒模一樣。因為承筒要承受下肢及全身的重量,當義肢承筒沒做好時,殘肢著力點錯誤,會造成殘肢疼痛、皮膚摩擦,嚴重者將會損傷殘肢而無法久站。縱使選配價格再昂貴的高彈力腳掌、再輕的碳纖或是鈦金屬義肢零件,只要義肢承筒無法扮演好它的角色,一切都是惘然。

 

選擇技術精良的義肢矯形師就顯得格外的重要。承筒的製作技術不僅是靠專業的訓練,更仰賴經驗的累積。 在選擇符合自己需求的義肢前,必須先有一個合於自己殘肢的承筒,方能發揮其他義肢零件的功能,進而不受限制的舒適活動。

 

客製化超薄型矽膠  

除了良好的義肢承筒外,穿戴在殘肢上的矽膠亦扮演著相當重要的角色。矽膠不僅能使殘肢在承筒內感到舒爽不悶熱,也 能減少義肢走動時,殘肢與承筒壁間的摩擦,使患友行走起來更為舒適、自然。

實例介紹

ShareThis Copy and Paste